Life in Bitesize

How can you hate Thomas the Tank Engine?

Posted on: November 12, 2009

Over the past few years, pretty much all of my close friends have decided to have kids. Now while that’s very lovely, and they’re all really cute, the fact is Christmas now costs me a whole lot more than it used to. Another thing is, kids are so bloody fussy these days – take for example, one of my friends, who shall remain nameless, who’s little boy is 2 and a half. I asked her what was a good thing to get him for Christmas and this was her reply:

“Anything with trains – he LOVES trains!”

“Great!” I said, “I know Thomas, I can handle that”

“Oh no!” she exclaimed, “He can’t STAND Thomas, absolutely hates him!”

What?! Who hates Thomas the Tank Engine? He’s a legend!

thomas_tank_engine

Anyway, lucky I asked, or else there would have been some serious tears come Christmas morning.

So if you’ve got kids to buy for this year, and you’re pretty much clueless like me, then this list of the top ten toys may help you out of a sticky situation:

  • Bakugan Battle Pack, Spin Master from £19.75
  • Ben 10 Alien Force Kevins DX Action Cruiser from £19.47
  • GO GO Pets Hamsters from £9.78
  • GX Racers Tightrope Terror from £19.94
  • VTech Kidizoom Multimedia Digital Camera from £37.32
  • Lego Games Minotaurus from £14.86
  • Monopoly City from £21.99
  • Princess Peppa’s Palace from £29.99
  • Sylvanian Families – The Caravan from £34.99
  • Transformers Movie 2 Deluxe Figures from £13.34
  • Bendaroos Mega Pack from £22.43
  • Battle Strikers Starter Set from £9.99

Luckily for you, all of these toys are priced under £50 (actually considered ‘stocking fillers’ to today’s parents – what happened to a squashed clementine and some chocolate coins?) so you won’t have to break the bank. It’s nice to see some of the old classics on this year’s must-have list (Sylvanian Families rule!), even if they do have a slightly modern twist.

In the end I decided to get my friend’s son a non-brand specific train set (no ‘issues’ there I hope), but as it was only a fiver and actually slightly girly, I got him a model dumper truck as well, just to beef things up a bit. Here’s hoping he doesn’t take offence to DAF Trucks as well!

Leave a comment